Sort of a DIY and a Show and Tell

diy, parent family fashion, random

Hey guys! How’s the night going? My night is going good! I’m getting my hair done. I wanted to come to you guys and do a quick show and tell with a sort of DIY. You guys know I’m bad at taking before pictures but I took some.

20130523-204703.jpg

After cutting the jeans into shorts, I gave them what I call the bleach bath. What’s this? I just simply took a long pan filled it with bleach just enough to saturate both sides. Be sure to do this in a well ventilated area. I did this outside. After the shorts sat for about two minutes, I hung them out in the sun. After both shorts sat in the sun for a total of three minute together, I dipped them in a bucket of cold water to stop the bleaching process. To ensure the stopping of the process, I used the garden hose and rinsed them off. I let them sit out in the sun for about 10 minutes while I prepared the dye. The picture you see above are the shorts sitting in the dye.

20130523-212702.jpg

To prepare the dye, I boiled the water. If your water from your sink gets pretty hot, you can skip the boiling process. I add salt to the bucket to help the dye adhere to the clothing better. With Rit dye, you can skip this step due to the fact that most contain salt. I like to add extra. Once the dye, the salt and the water is added to your bucket, you want to use something to stir the items together. I love to use a plastic clothes hanger. While your shorts are still wet, start to dip the top or bottom half in the dye. You want to dip them in and out a couple of times, then let them sit for a few minutes. Once you have achieved your desired color, rinse the item off starting with warm water. Gradually decrease the temperature to cold until the water starts to run into its lightest color or clear. Repeat these steps for the opposite side. After completion of these steps, wash in your washer with warm water on a gentle cycle. I do a gentle cycle because I distress my jeans.

Your items should come out like these:

20130523-221545.jpg

20130523-221810.jpg

So what do you guys think? Are you all going to try your own ombré shorts? I would love to see. Comment below on any thoughts or questions. If for any reason your love mail(comments) do not receive an answer or has been sent to spam, please let me know. I do not want anyone to feel ignored on this blog. I love everyone and I love interacting with you all, so please contact me if you feel these things have happened! Til next time ✌duces and 🙏truces💜❤💚💜❤❤💜

Look what I found!!!

20130523-222400.jpg

Leave a Reply

